Spirit of Lot Issue #2: Fear

The second element of the spirit of Lot is Fear.  Proverbs 29:25 tells us, ”Fear of man will prove to be a snare, but whoever trusts in the Lord is kept safe.” I am convinced Lot was afraid to make any waves in Sodom. We are able to see how the town could get unruly and dangerous. If you close your eyes, you can imagine the lustful mob that came to Lot’s house that night looking for Angels. When Lot goes outside to reason with the men, they got indignant. Genesis 19:9 tells us the men said “Get out of our way. This fellow (meaning Lot) came here as a foreigner, and now he wants to play the judge! We’ll treat you worse than them.” They kept bringing pressure on Lot and moved forward to break down the door.

Obviously the crowd did not have respect for Lot. Even while he was pleading with them, they ignored him. It stopped Lot in his tracks. He was frozen and didn’t know what else to do. He was afraid.

How many times has fear come over you? The fear of speaking up for yourself, your ideas, beliefs or faith? Have you ever been afraid to speak up or take action because you needed your job? Or because you didn’t want to lose a friend or client? Or even because you didn’t want to upset your spouse for fear they would leave you. Did it paralyze you like it did Lot?  You are not alone.

When I was in Japan, God was teaching me about healing others. I was learning how to hear Him and listen to what He had to say. I remember being at the office and doing an interview. The person I was interviewing was born with a deformed hand. As I was interviewing, I feel like the Holy Spirit told me to pray for his hand. I froze. I was afraid. Here I was in the office and interviewing a prospective employee. I had been taught you just don’t mix business and religion. So what did I do? I ignored the prompting of the Holy Spirit. Besides, I was sure He didn’t really ask me to do that. I could not shake the feeling though, so decided to reason with God. Can you imagine having a conversation with God in between asking the candidate questions on why he would be a good employee?  Before I knew it, the interview was over and I had lost my opportunity to heal this young man’s hand. I hired the young man, but never did got another the chance to pray for his hand. God had given me a prime opportunity to dispense healing to a hurting person and I missed it because of my fear of man.

As with complacency, we don’t have to stay there. We don’t have to stay frozen in fear. 2 Tim 1:7 “For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline.” Next time you feel fear of engaging in a Jesus moment, pray this promise we are given in Deuteronomy 31:6.  God tells us to “Be strong. Take courage. Don’t be intimidated. Don’t give them a second thought because God, your God, is striding ahead of you. He’s right there with you. He won’t let you down; he won’t leave you.” Then watch the walls come down, the doors open and the Holy Spirit start working in the person or situation.

Leave a Reply

