Spirit of Lot Issue 3: Unworthiness

The third area that impacts us from the spirit of Lot is Unworthiness. In Job 40:4 it says “I am unworthy; how can I reply to you? I put my hand over my mouth”

Like Job, how many of you have felt unworthy at some time in your life? Maybe it was a new job or a new relationship or a new situation. I know I have. Now imagine being the nephew of Abraham. I can imagine he felt a little unworthy. God came and hung out with Abraham, God liked Abraham. I can see Lot saying behind a nervous laughter…“yeah, he’s my uncle. We are tight. “  Maybe he tried to convince others that he was better because of the association. However, could it be possible that Lot felt unworthy to do what Abraham was doing. Felt unworthy of being a friend to God? I am sure it didn’t help when his uncle had to rescue him and everyone from Sodom after King Kedoriaomer defeated Sodom. Abraham went after the victorious army and rescued his nephew. The King of Sodom felt indebted to Abraham. I am sure Lot felt even more unworthy after that event. I can hear Lot complaining to his wife “Why would anyone in the town listen to him. Maybe if Abraham were there, they would listen to him.”

If you have ever felt unworthy, you are not alone. So many great heroes of the bible felt unworthy. Gideon felt unworthy when God told him to save Israel from the Midianites.  Judges 6:15 says “how can I save Israel, my clan is the weakest and I am the least in my family.” He felt unworthy. Moses felt unworthy when God asks him to go save His people. In Exodus 3:11 Moses says “who am I, that I should go to Pharaoh and bring the Israelites out of Egypt.” He didn’t feel particularly worthy either. But in both cases, God had the same answer. “I will be with you.” The good news is God will be with us when we are doing His will and His work. He believes in us, even if we don’t believe in ourselves. Jesus would not have commanded us to go into all of the world and preach the gospel if He wasn’t going to be with us. God believes in us and hold on to that next time you are in a situation you feel unworthy.

Leave a Reply

