Get Out of the House

Growing up I always thought that I needed to go to church to find God. That is where He was right? If I wanted prayer, I go to church. If I wanted healing, I go to church. If I wanted salvation, I go to church. All of those statements are correct, however, they are not sufficient to live out the great commandment to “go and make disciples of all nations.” Church is a safe place to be with those who know Jesus and believe in His life giving message. Too many of us equate the building with the broader understanding of “the church.” Every believer in Christ Jesus is the church since Holy Spirit lives inside us.

I find it interesting when I read the creation story in Genesis 1 and 2. He creates the heavens, the earth, the animals and finally man. Then in Genesis 2:8 we are told, “now the Lord God had planted a garden in the east, in Eden; and there he put the man he had formed.” There were trees and rivers and flowers. What was not there was a building. God had not wanted Adam and Eve to be restricted with a building. Fast forward to the time Moses led the Israelites out of Egypt. He had them live in tents. In fact, God Himself resided in the tabernacle, which was a tent. Then God had Solomon build a temple for God’s present to reside. However, it was a place to go to and then go from. Finally, Jesus gives His life for our sins and transforms our bodies into the temple of God.

Just like the tabernacle in Moses time, our bodies are meant to be the mobile temple of Jesus. We are not meant to restrict ourselves to a building. Church on Sunday should be a time where we can get instruction, a time to worship God as a whole body and be encouraged. We are then to go out and be the hands and feet of Jesus. He wanted us in a garden, to be outside, interacting with His creation. He wants us going to where people are sick and hurting. We are to get out and bring the gospel or good news to a world in pain.

 

Action for the day

Today, make a commitment to get out of the building and find a place can serve. The church is good, but get out into the community. The good news is search engines today enable us to find places that serve areas of our passions. If you don’t know where to start, try some of these searches:

  • Place to serve <insert the name of your city>
  • Volunteer opportunities <insert name of your city>
  • Soup kitchens near me
  • Serve food to the homeless
  • Anti-trafficking organizations <insert name of your city>
  • Non-profit organizations <insert name of your city>

Once you have searched and chosen a place to serve, take the action to contact them today and get involved.

Prayer for the day

Father God, thank you that You created a world full of wonder and beauty. It is good! Today, as I make a commitment to get out and be your hands and feet, guide me to the place where I can join You in Your work. Let my heart break for the things that break your heart. Reveal how my passions are in line with my purpose to live an abundant life. Show me where I can best serve to bring Your glory and the Kingdom of Heaven to earth. It is in the powerful name of Jesus I pray these things. Amen.

Leave a Reply

