Compassion and faith

It never seems to amaze how people change in December. Even those who don’t celebrate Christmas have a lilt in their step. People are nicer, more patient and happier. I know it is a generalization, however, it is part of what makes this time of year special. The simple fact that most are in a better mood, are smiling more, are singing Christmas carols makes for a fun environment. Imagine if we lived this way the other 11 months of the year.

My wife and I are taking December to read through Matthew, Mark, Luke, John and Acts three times over the month. Oh, and we will read them on our knees. We got the idea from Oral Roberts who was told by God to this very thing to capture His heart. We want to know Jesus better and understand Him better.

While this is the first week and I am not finished with all five books, I am halfway through John. I can say, sitting down and reading Matthew, Mark, Luke and part of John over just a few days gives a much better perspective of the gospels. One of the most startling items is how Jesus interacted with people.

Jesus had compassion on most of the people He came across. In most instance, it says Jesus had compassion and healed the sick, cast out the demon, cured the leper or raised the dead. He didn’t do it out of obligation, but of compassion and love. What if we showed that level of compassion over the year, not just in December? Why is it only in December where we give to food shelters and toys for kids? Why shouldn’t we decide to have that kind of compassion and influence the rest of the year? I think we can, it just means we need to be intentional.

The other item that jumps out when you read all four books in a couple of days is how important faith is to everything Jesus did. After Jesus had compassion, he usually did a miracle, but only if the person had enough faith. The more faith they had, the bigger the miracle. We can have compassion, but it takes faith to see the miracle come to fruition.

John 14:12-14 (NIV)

“Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.”

If we want to see miracles, we have to believe in Jesus and make Him our Lord. How cool would it be if all those who believe in Jesus also believed they could do the miracles that He did? I think it is amazing even with all of the miracles Jesus did, we are meant to do more and greater miracles. We just have to have compassion and faith that miracles will happen.

This December, think about living a life of miracles. Not just helping those in need in December, but living like Jesus the rest of the year.

Leave a Reply

