Taking a Break

I am taking a day off from the current topic around HR in the bible to share a little from my life. I started writing the blog last fall when the Ultimate Blog Challenge kicked off in October. I began as a way to get some interest in a book that was in production at a publisher. If anyone is interested in those topics, check out my blogs in that timeframe. There was a delay with the publisher and then I decided to do a re-write because I had input from a pastor I highly respect and wanted to make some changes. All that to say, I expected the book to be out in January. Of course, there is a difference between the publisher and author having the book and Amazon having it. It does take 2-3 months to get into distribution so it is available everywhere. That point aside, I really expected to get my hands on my first book this month.

Well, yesterday, I learned the publisher is going out of business.

CRASH

BANG

CRUMBLE

I was shocked, but not surprised. You see, communication began to get sketchy for the last month. I knew something was up. Then I am sure I was prompted by Holy Spirit to dig a little bit. I found other authors were facing the same issues. So I almost expected the news to come down, just not so soon. So I face a huge disappointment today. However, I remember what James says in James 1:2-3 “Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.”

When we face disappointment, we have a choice. We can rejoice in our suffering or we can complain. I know what happened to the Israelites when they complained. I choose to praise my God and thank Him for His goodness. I know this is just a short term setback and God will open up another door. I am going to believe it will be even better than the first. So I ask for your prayers that new doors will open and my book will finally be published.

4 thoughts on “Taking a Break

  1. Sorry to hear about your publishing issues. Will definitely add you to my prayer list. It must be contagious. My books were published by a small publisher and have been out for a couple of years. However, my publisher announced he is going to retire, so I must also regroup. I know God has a plan, just don’t know what it is. I had been wanting my rights back to do something a little different than my publisher, just hadn’t planned on getting them this fast or at this time.

    Like

  2. Oh, Jeff, we are so sorry! You are the second person we know that this has happened to this month. We join you in praying for a new company. John heads to Zim in a couple of hours, but when he returns he’d love to connect with you by skype. We’ll be in touch after the 29th! Take care, Friend. It’s very disappointing. Don’t know if you read my blog post about Micah the other day, but he too, was hit was a sucker punch and was laid low by disappointment. We stand with you and Mollie!

    Like

    1. Thanks Heather. I did read your blog and am praying for Micah. I would love to catch up when John gets back and will be praying for his trip. Thanks for the encouragement and blessings and love to everyone there.

      Like

Leave a Reply

