Wait Your Turn

Every city has a different way of driving. Just because you know how to drive in one city, does not mean you know how to drive in another. This is most true in large cities. Atlanta driving is different from Dallas driving. Which are both different than L.A. driving or Boston driving. There is, however, one trait that seems to be consistent no matter where you go. (The only exception might be Japan, but we won’t go into that right now.) The trait is an impatience with the other driver.

Whoever gets behind the wheel feels like they should be first. When I was younger, I had a uncontrollable urge to be passing other cars. While I never considered it a selfish notion, I do realize I probably did cut many drivers off. Today, the notion of selfies has permeated every generation when it comes to driving. All drivers are consumed with what is best for them and too many forget they are on the road with thousands of other drivers. Watch how many people cut each other off during the commute to or from work. How many horns get blasted? Watch the animation from the drivers around you. Even the most considerate people like to drive in the fast lane and go below the speed limit. This type of selfish action tends to bring the worst out of people.

In 1994, an Australian singer debuted her first album, God, in the US. It went gold and made Rebecca St. James an overnight star in Christian music. Her first album had a song called You then Me. Just a few of the lyrics are:

It’s my turn, it’s not your turn

It’s my turn, get outta my way

It’s my turn, go on complain

I’m comin’ through anyway

 Don’t ask me why I’m like this

But lately I’m wonderin’ if it’ll come to pass

That the last shall be first and the first shall be last

Then the voice says.

 Here’s the way it oughtta be

You then me then you then me

Well, I pray one day we’ll all agree

And take it you then me then you then me

Life could go you then me then you then me

 It’s easy, you wait then go

It’s easy, so make your move

It’s easy, don’t clown around

Could’ve gone six times by now

But no sir, you gotta be a pain

Or is this your own way of sayin’

We should all cool down

And be more like the man who was born back in Bethlehem town?

What would happen if we actually adopted an attitude that we don’t have to be first? That we don’t have to cut people off. That we really don’t need to be mad at the stupid move another person does behind the wheel. What if we showed them a little bit of Jesus? What would happen if we stopped being selfish during our commutes? What if we began being selfless and showed the love of Christ to our fellow commuters? I bet that kind of kindness would be repaid multiple times throughout the day. Go ahead, try it and see what happens.

3 thoughts on “Wait Your Turn

  1. I will never forget when we went to Italy and our guide told us to make sure we cross the streets in a group. The cars and scooters would stop for a group but if you were only one or two, you took you life in your own hands, the drivers just barreled on through.

    Like

Leave a Reply

