Journey of Unemployment – 10 Lessons From My Reflection

Shame. Disbelief. Shock. Anger.

All of these are words that most share when asked about their time being unemployed. There is a stigma around being unemployed. The enemy loves replaying the phrases that everyone must be saying.

“You were not a good employee. That is why they fired you.”

“You are no good. You don’t really have any skills.”

“You are worthless. No-one is going to hire you.”

“They are looking down on you since you don’t have a job.”

“What did he do to loose his job? I bet there is a good story around it.”

It is all too easy to let the enemy seep into our thoughts, that is why we are told to put on the helmet of salvation and to take on the mind of Christ. If we choose to believe the lies about us, we are being disobedient to God. He tells us we are His treasured possessions. We are a Royal Priesthood and His children.

While it is important not to be self-reflective when you are in the heat of the battle, there comes a time when we need to look in the mirror and learn from what happened. That is what I did so I can learn the lessons I need to learn. Reading James 1:2-4 gave me some insight as to why it is important to understand how we are being made perfect in Christ.

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.”

We will face trials. Make no mistake, being unemployed is a trial of faith, obedience and reliance on Jesus. We are to persevere through the trial and it will continue until we learn what we need to learn. We will be made mature as we listen and look to Jesus to show us what we need to do to improve. We are being transformed into the image of Christ and one way to get a step closer is through trials.

What were my lessons? What did Holy Spirit show me to work on?

  1. He showed me that I should work to support ministry, not work to support myself and my career.
  2. He showed me I need to wait on Him to tell me to go. Not go until he says stop.
  3. I need to rely on Him for everything. He will provide for my needs and the needs of my family because He love me.
  4. Hubris will catch up to you. I needed to shed off the spirit of arrogance and put on the clock of humility.
  5. I need to let Him do it, I don’t need to. He will bring the recruiters, He will open the doors, He will show me where He wants me to go.
  6. Just because something looks good, does not mean it is from God. I am learning to look for God’s best, not just good. The tree in the garden looked good, but it was not God’s best.
  7. Live on less and give more. Tithe to the church. Even without an income, giving the first fruits of any income I do receive has opened a door to getting out of debt.
  8. Look at today, don’t look at yesterday. We will never move forward if we keep looking behind us. God will forgive any mistakes and only wants good for us.
  9. Give God control of EVERYTHING…when He is in control good things will happen. It may not always make sense, but our testimony will be made strong.
  10. Use the time wisely. I see this time as a gift. I am spending more time with God, in worship, prayer and the bible. I am also spending the time with family and friends. I am getting to write a whole lot more. This blog is an example.

So enjoy it. Morning will come and the night will end. When we are made mature and complete, our trails will end, a new season will begin. We will then see the fruit of our time in the desert.

Leave a Reply

