Journey of Unemployment -Rejection

re·jec·tion – rəˈjekSH(ə)n / noun: the spurning of a person’s affections.

We have all dealt with rejection. Some have known rejection from an early age, whereas most of us have faced it in our teenage years. Whenever rejection hits, it has significant impact to our emotional health. Rejections main target is our confidence. It makes us make statements that are not true. The enemy will use rejection to open a wound in our ego, heart or soul. We may have a wound if you have ever used any of the following statements.

“I am not pretty or good looking.”

“I am not wanted.”

“I don’t have what it takes.”

“I am not enough for him/her.”

“I am not any good.”

“I am not loved.”

“They won’t like me.”

“No one will hire me.”

Anytime we see ourselves as failures, we reject our creator. Not only do we begin rejecting ourselves, we reject the one who made us. Instead, God loved us so much He sent His Son to die for us. He wants us to be son’s and daughter’s. He wants us to receive His love and look to Him for comfort and strength. We should not look to man or woman to find our identity.

I have lost count of the number of interviews I have had and the number of applications I have submitted. I don’t know how many people I have talked with or had some form of networking connection. I lost count after 70 coffee/lunches. I lost count after 40 interviews. I didn’t even try to count the number of applications I submitted, but it must be over 100 now. If I focused on how many jobs I didn’t get, I could easily fall into a state of despair and rejection.

I don’t look at it as how many jobs I have been rejected from. I look at is as all the people I got to meet and all of the companies God didn’t want me to work for. I am not being rejected by people. I am being loved by God and in His mercy is saving the perfect job for me. The job He wants me to have. The God ordained job that will be His best. It is a matter of perspective. If you are frustrated and negative, that will come through. If you are up beat, optimistic and positive, people will see that as well. I love Matthew 5:48 in the Message where Jesus tells us to “Live out your God-created identity.”

Matthew 5:48 “In a word, what I’m saying is, Grow up. You’re kingdom subjects. Now live like it. Live out your God-created identity. Live generously and graciously toward others, the way God lives toward you.”

God wants us to look to Him to be our identity. Just because man rejects us, God will not. When we put our faith in Him and make Him our Lord, He will not let us down. Man will let us down, but Jesus will never.

We should look to Him for our identity. Instead of thinking in any of the ways above, we should see ourselves through Jesus’s eyes. He sees us as a wonderful work of art, created in His image. He sees us with talents and skills. He sees us as likable and lovable. He sees us as enough for anyone else and in any situation.  Don’t let the enemy lie to you. You are a loved child of the God of the universe. You matter, I matter, we all matter to Him.

May you see through the eyes of love, through the eyes of Jesus and believe what He thinks of you. He really does think each one of us is special and is really glad we are alive. Thank Him today for giving us our identity and not rejecting us.

2 thoughts on “Journey of Unemployment -Rejection

Leave a Reply

