Journey of Unemployment – Choose Hope

January has seemed to be a microcosm of life in general. It has been an interesting month. As in life there have been some highs and some lows. The good news is the job market seems to be picking up. I now have 5-6 opportunities I’m chasing, which is   certainly a positive sign. The publisher closing their door was clearly the valley of the month. This is certainly the challenge of being unemployed. Your day, week, month can hinge on how many interviews you have. If you are advancing in the interview process, you can feel the excitement the job is around the corner. Things outside of the job hunt can have magnified impacts. Some things that would not normally bother you can seem huge. Things that use to seem huge look insignificant. It is a unique state of mind.

Though the highs and low, I have learned to focus on hope. It is the thing that helps me get up each day. Thinking that today will be the day. Believing something good is going to happen today really helps me to keep moving. Not in some self help, power of positive thinking way. Rather in a sound Biblical way. The way Jesus would have encouraged us. The verses I have relied on to keep me hoping are:

Romans 5:1-5: Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ,  through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we boast in the hope of the glory of God. Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.

Proverbs 16:3: Stay committed to me my child. I will establish your plans and bless you. There is not anything you will need to do, but trust in my power and sit at my feet.

James 1:2-4: Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

Isaiah 51:11: Those the Lord has rescued will return.

    They will enter Zion with singing;

    everlasting joy will crown their heads.

Gladness and joy will overtake them,

    and sorrow and sighing will flee away.

By continuing to seek God and His love for me, I can have hope for today and for tomorrow. I know He has something wonderful for me. I only want His best and do not want to settle for something less. So I choose to rejoice and hope, even through the low points. Because in the end, it is all about Jesus and the love He poured out to us, so we can live a full life.

2 thoughts on “Journey of Unemployment – Choose Hope

Leave a Reply

