Weathering the Storms of Life – part 4

Going through storms are never fun. However, they are necessary to grow our faith. Through the storm we get changed, but what do we do, once the storm has passed.  Noah gave us insight to that question.

We see the answer in Genesis 8:13-16 “By the first day of the first month of Noah’s six hundred and first year, the water had dried up from the earth. Noah then removed the covering from the ark and saw that the surface of the ground was dry.  By the twenty-seventh day of the second month the earth was completely dry. Then God said to Noah, “Come out of the ark, you and your wife and your sons and their wives. 17 Bring out every kind of living creature that is with you—the birds, the animals, and all the creatures that move along the ground—so they can multiply on the earth and be fruitful and increase in number upon it.” 

The storm has ended, and what did Noah do?  He waited on the Lord.  It must have taken a huge amount of patience to then wait almost two full months after the land was dry, before he could leave the ark.  Noah waited to hear from the Father as to when he could leave the ark.  Whenever a storm hits, I think it is easy to breathe a sigh of relief and start moving on our own once the storm is over.  But the Father wants us to also wait upon Him.

In my case, once I was able to work through the emotional components, let go of my pride, let go of my future plans, I had to be patient and wait upon the Lord.  Right now, I don’t have a job.  So I have to surrender that to the Father and wait on Him to open the door to where He wants me to go and do.  I don’t know what is next.  At best we see dimly.  And in my case, not at all.  But I will trust and wait for the Father to show me what is next in my career. I believe there is something far better on the horizon because my God is a good God and He is in a good mood.   I know the new path I am on will take me to places I never dreamed of going.

Finally, we must not forget to praise the Lord for bringing us through the storm.  In Genesis 8:20-21

Then Noah built an altar to the LORD and, taking some of all the clean animals and clean birds, he sacrificed burnt offerings on it. The LORD smelled the pleasing aroma and said in his heart: “Never again will I curse the ground because of man, even though every inclination of his heart is evil from childhood. And never again will I destroy all living creatures, as I have done. 

Noah thanked God for bringing him through the daddy of all storms.  Just as we need to remember to thank the Father for getting us through our storms.   We can look at what Jonah prays when was in the belly of the great fish, he praised the Father in Jonah 2:1-10, and it was pleasing to Him;

1 From inside the fish Jonah prayed to the LORD his God. 2 He said:
“In my distress I called to the LORD,
and he answered me.
From the depths of the grave I called for help,
and you listened to my cry.

3 You hurled me into the deep,
into the very heart of the seas,
and the currents swirled about me;
all your waves and breakers
swept over me.

4 I said, ‘I have been banished
from your sight;
yet I will look again
toward your holy temple.’

5 The engulfing waters threatened me,
the deep surrounded me;
seaweed was wrapped around my head.

6 To the roots of the mountains I sank down;
the earth beneath barred me in forever.
But you brought my life up from the pit,
O LORD my God.

7 “When my life was ebbing away,
I remembered you, LORD,
and my prayer rose to you,
to your holy temple.

8 “Those who cling to worthless idols
forfeit the grace that could be theirs.

9 But I, with a song of thanksgiving,
will sacrifice to you.
What I have vowed I will make good.
Salvation comes from the LORD.”

10 And the LORD commanded the fish, and it vomited Jonah onto dry land.

Jonah captures how many of us feel when we get hit by a storm.  He also captures his heart and love for the Father.  I pray that I can have faith like that one day.

The Father brings us through storms.  He builds our character, He refines us, He heals us, He changes us, saves us, He draws us closer to Himself.  Storms can seem like the world is going to end.  But the Father has given us some practical steps to weather the storms.

  • We lighten our loads
  • We take our bearings
  • We stay in community
  • We eat and keep our strength
  • We cut the things that anchor us
  • We wait on the Lord
  • We give Him thanks.

There is no promise that life will be easy.  We will face storms.  But we can be assured that the Father loves us and will be with us.  He will remember us when the storm hits, just like he did Noah and Paul.

Leave a Reply

